Saturday, June 22, 2024

The Schengen-Style GCC Visa to be launched in Dec 2024

  • The new Schengen-style GCC visa streamlines travel across Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Bahrain, and the UAE, eliminating the need for multiple visas.
  • Boost for Tourism: Tourism is expected to flourish as the visa encourages more visitors to explore the cultural and historical richness of the Gulf region.
  • Travellers will enjoy a seamless experience, moving effortlessly between countries to discover iconic landmarks and vibrant cultural scenes.
  • The simplified visa process not only benefits tourists but also eases travel for business professionals, promoting cross-border trade and collaboration.
  • Industry experts are enthusiastic about the visa’s potential to stimulate tourism growth, drawing parallels to the impact of the Schengen visa on European tourism.

In December 2024, a new Schengen-style GCC visa is going to be introduced. It will enable seamless travel across six Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries: Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Bahrain, and the UAE.

This development is set to revolutionize tourism in the region, allowing visitors to explore multiple countries without the need for separate visas.

Announced during the 40th GCC ministers’ meeting in Oman, the visa initiative has received unanimous approval from all member states, signalling a significant step forward in regional integration.

Benefits of Regional Tourism

The new visa is expected to significantly boost tourism across the GCC countries. Travel agents and tour operators are already preparing comprehensive itineraries that take full advantage of the simplified travel process.

With this visa, travellers can enjoy a streamlined experience, moving effortlessly from one country to another.

This is reminiscent of the impact seen with the Schengen visa in Europe, which led to a dramatic increase in tourism across participating nations.

Enhancing Travel Experience

The Schengen-style GCC visa will remove the bureaucratic hurdles associated with obtaining multiple visas, making it more convenient for tourists to explore the rich cultural and historical heritage of the Gulf region.

The visa’s introduction is anticipated to encourage more frequent cross-border travel, benefiting not only tourists but also business travellers who will find it easier to move between the six countries.

Economic Impact

Tourism is a vital component of the GCC economies, and the new visa is expected to generate substantial economic benefits.

By attracting more visitors, the visa will support the hospitality, retail, and transportation sectors.

The UAE, which hosted a record number of tourists last year, stands to gain significantly, with Dubai likely to see an influx of tourists keen to explore its iconic landmarks and vibrant cultural scene.

The list of GCC Countries

United Arab Emirates (UAE)

The UAE is renowned for its modern architecture, luxury shopping, and dynamic nightlife.

Key attractions of UAE include the Burj Khalifa i.e. the tallest building in the world, and the Palm Jumeirah, an artificial archipelago.

The simplified visa process is expected to draw more visitors to these landmarks, enhancing the UAE’s status as a premier global tourist destination.

Saudi Arabia

As the birthplace of Islam, Saudi Arabia holds immense religious significance with the holy cities of Mecca and Medina.

It is also investing heavily in tourism through ambitious projects like NEOM, a futuristic city, and the Red Sea resorts.

The new visa will facilitate easier access for pilgrims and tourists alike, supporting Saudi Arabia’s vision of becoming a major tourism hub.


Bahrain, an island nation, combines modern infrastructure with a rich cultural heritage. Notable attractions include the Bahrain Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage site, and the annual Formula 1 Grand Prix.

The new visa will make it simpler for tourists to experience Bahrain’s unique blend of history and modernity.


Qatar’s futuristic architecture and cultural landmarks, such as the Museum of Islamic Art in Doha, are major draws for tourists.

The new visa will likely sustain the momentum, encouraging visitors to explore Qatar’s evolving tourism landscape.


Oman is celebrated for its stunning natural landscapes and a harmonious mix of tradition and modernity in its capital, Muscat.

Key attractions include the Jebel Akhdar Mountains and the Sultan Qaboos Mosque. The new visa will enable tourists to easily explore Oman’s diverse offerings, from its scenic beauty to its cultural sites.


Kuwait, known for its oil wealth, offers attractions such as the Kuwait Towers and a vibrant cultural scene.

The new visa will allow tourists to experience Kuwait’s unique blend of tradition and modernity without the hassle of obtaining separate entry permits.

Industry Reactions

Industry experts are optimistic about the new visa’s potential. Mr. Anup Kumar Keshan, Founder and CEO of TTW, expressed his excitement, noting that the visa initiative will streamline planning for tour operators and travel agents.

He anticipates a substantial surge in tourism across all six Gulf nations, drawing parallels to the Schengen visa’s impact on European tourism.

Altogether, the introduction of the Schengen-style GCC visa marks a significant milestone in regional cooperation and tourism development.

By facilitating seamless travel across Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Bahrain, and the UAE, the visa is poised to boost tourism, enhance economic growth, and promote cultural exchange.

As the launch date approaches, the Gulf region prepares to welcome a new era of interconnectedness and exploration.

Team QT
Team QT
Staff writer at

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles